Old Wykehamist Football Club

Match Report

Match Report - 23 Oct 2021, Old Wykehamist Football Club 1st XI beat Old Eastbournians

OWFC 1s 6 - 2 Old Eastbournians

23 Oct 2021. Arthur Dunn Cup. Club des Sports, Acton.

The 1s took the chance offered by a cup game against a Div 5 side to blood four debutantes, three of whom left school this year. Conceding an early penalty and going 1-0 down wasn’t part of the plan. However Fred Falk playing RW had his opposite number on toast and equalised from a tasty assist from Lekan. Lucas Scott up front hit the post and looked dangerous but it was Falk who put us 2-1 ahead. We conceded a deeply sloppy equaliser but midway through the first half found our groove and from there pushed on to dominate the game. Essex struck from a central position after some dribbling from Fred Thomas playing in midfield. Essex then bent a high quality free kick into the bottom corner, and his deliveries from corners were top notch - how only Pete Fuller helped himself to a headed goal no one knows, with Mercer, Mitchell and Ivo Beatty going close. In the second half we saw a lot of the ball with touches in midfield from Fred and Lekan and new man Bakr Binladen. Fuller at CB won plaudits by controlling high balls we expected him to head. Essex was denied by a couple of quality saves but eventually Mitchell played him in to wrap up another hat trick. Tom Swart came on and buzzed around the forward line nearly getting in on goal several times, but the game ended 6-2. A banana skin avoided and four promising debuts - a good day out. The rigours of the Prem will provide a different level, with a top of the table fixture against Carthusians next week.

(Blackwell-Thale - Beatty, Mercer, Fuller, Mitchell - Thomas, Olagunju, Binladen - Falk, Scott, Swart, Essex)

MOM - Thomas, DOD - Mercer

Old Wykehamist Football Club 1st XI 6 - 2 Old Eastbournians ()

Name Goals Details
1 Laurence Blackwell-Thale  
2 Ivo Beatty  
3 Oliver Mitchell  
4 Peter Fuller   1
5 Rupert Mercer  
6 Fred Thomas  
7 Lekan Olagunju  
8 Bakr Binladen  
9 Lucas Scott  
10 Fred Falk   2
11 James Essex   3
12 Tom Swart